<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
  <channel>
    <title>kinkeep.dev AI News</title>
    <link>https://kinkeep.dev/news</link>
    <description>A short AI newsletter with summaries and one-line takes.</description>
    <language>en</language>
    <lastBuildDate>Thu, 15 Oct 2026 00:00:00 GMT</lastBuildDate>
    <atom:link href="https://kinkeep.dev/news/feed.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
  <item>
    <title>Claude Code now compacts idle chats before the cache expires</title>
    <link>https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-15</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="true">https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-15</guid>
    <pubDate>Thu, 15 Oct 2026 00:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
    <description>Claude Code v2.1.299 adds idle compaction: a 200K+ token conversation left idle for about 54 minutes is compacted before its one-hour prompt cache expires. v2.1.300 adds OpenTelemetry trace fields and fixes lost history when resuming after a compaction.</description>
    <content:encoded><![CDATA[<ol><li><p><a href="https://github.com/anthropics/claude-code/releases/tag/v2.1.299">v2.1.299: compaction while you&apos;re away</a> (Claude Code GitHub release, Oct 14)</p><p>In the terminal, a conversation over 200K tokens left idle for about 54 minutes is compacted before its one-hour prompt cache expires, so your next message doesn&apos;t reprocess the whole thing. CLAUDE_CODE_IDLE_COMPACT_MIN_TOKENS changes the 200K minimum, and &quot;idleCompaction&quot;: false in settings.json turns it off. Both need v2.1.290 or later. Whether it also runs outside the terminal (VS Code, desktop app) is not disclosed.</p><p><em>Long conversations getting compacted is natural. What matters is whether it happens when you want it to. I always compact manually. The right moments are when one task is done, when one category of a long task is done, or before I step away for a long time. A cache miss with a nearly full context is a waste.</em></p></li><li><p><a href="https://github.com/anthropics/claude-code/releases/tag/v2.1.299">Compared with when I compact by hand</a> (Based on the v2.1.299 release notes)</p><p>Idle compaction looks at two things: conversation size (200K tokens or more) and idle time (about 54 minutes). Whether a task or category is finished is not part of it. So of the three moments, only stepping away is handled automatically. Whether you can choose what the summary keeps is not disclosed.</p></li><li><p><a href="https://github.com/anthropics/claude-code/releases/tag/v2.1.300">v2.1.300: more tracing, resume fixes</a> (Claude Code GitHub release, Oct 14 (Oct 15 KST))</p><ul><li>The OpenTelemetry api_request event adds cache_creation_5m_tokens and cache_creation_1h_tokens, splitting cache writes by lifetime.</li><li>Trace spans get OpenTelemetry GenAI semantic-convention attributes such as gen_ai.provider.name, gen_ai.conversation.id, gen_ai.tool.name and error.type.</li><li>Fixed resuming a headless or Agent SDK session losing the recent messages a compaction kept, when the compaction followed a reply cut at the output token limit. Applies to compactions from this version on.</li><li>Fixed resuming losing the compaction summary or bringing back pre-compaction history, when the compaction followed a retried or unfinished reply in the same turn.</li><li>Fixed the first transcript entry written after resuming being lost when a crash had cut the transcript&apos;s last line short.</li></ul></li></ol>]]></content:encoded>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Google releases Gemini 4 Argon: 1M-token output, tied with GPT-6 Astra on an independent score</title>
    <link>https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-14</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="true">https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-14</guid>
    <pubDate>Wed, 14 Oct 2026 00:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
    <description>Google publicly released Gemini 4 Argon on October 14, 2026. On the Artificial Analysis leaderboard (2026-10-14), Argon (high) ties GPT-6 Astra (max) at 53 and sits below Claude Opus 5.5 (max) at 58. Grok 4.8 is not on that leaderboard yet. Output can run up to 1M tokens.</description>
    <content:encoded><![CDATA[<ol><li><p><a href="https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/models-and-research/gemini-models/introducing-gemini-4-argon/">Gemini 4 Argon reaches general release</a> (Google blog, Oct 14)</p><p>On October 1, 2026 at 05:00 KST it was available only to defensive security organizations through the Fairwind program. On October 14, 2026 at 01:00 KST it reached general release on paid Gemini API tiers, AI Studio, Google Antigravity (Ultra subscribers), and the Gemini app and Search AI Mode (Pro and Ultra subscribers).</p></li><li><p><a href="https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/latest-model">Model ID, 1M output, and price</a> (Gemini API docs)</p><p>The model ID is gemini-4-argon. The default thinking level is medium, and low, medium, or high can be selected. Input, thinking, and output share one 1,048,576-token window, and a single response can run up to 1M tokens. Through November 30 the introductory price is $2 per 1M input tokens, $0.10 per 1M cached input tokens, and $10 per 1M output tokens including thinking tokens. From December 1 those prices are $4, $0.20, and $20. It is not available on the free tier or on the Google AI Pro plan in the API.</p></li><li><p><a href="https://artificialanalysis.ai/leaderboards/models">Independent score ties Astra</a> (Artificial Analysis leaderboard, 2026-10-14)</p><p>On the Artificial Analysis leaderboard (2026-10-14), Gemini 4 Argon (high) scores 53, tying GPT-6 Astra (max). Claude Opus 5.5 (max) scores 58. Claude Sonnet 5.5 (max) and Muse Wonder Full score 56. Grok 4.8 is not on this leaderboard. Grok 4.7 (xhigh) scores 46. On AA-Omniscience the hallucination rate is 15% for Argon and 51% for Astra, and accuracy is 50% for Argon and 63% for Astra. Hallucination rate and accuracy for Opus 5.5 are not in the sources checked. One analysis says the low hallucination rate comes from answering &apos;I don&apos;t know&apos; more often, not from getting more answers right.</p></li><li><p><a href="https://venturebeat.com/technology/google-unveils-gemini-4-argon-retaking-benchmark-lead-over-openai-and-anthropic-but-in-limited-release">Benchmarks Google published</a> (VentureBeat, Google&apos;s published table)</p><p>Across the 18 items Google published, Argon was the sole leader on 12 and tied for first on 1. DeepSWE v1.1 is 77.9%, LVBench is 91.7%, FrontierSWE v2 is 55.0%, and Terminal-bench 4.0 is 57.4%. Harvey Legal Agent Benchmark is 19.6%, AutomationBench is 51.3%, and the Gray Swan indirect prompt-injection attack success rate is 0.7%. No coding-benchmark numbers that compare Argon directly with Grok turned up.</p></li><li><p><a href="https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49914236">Community reaction</a> (Hacker News, Oct 1)</p><p>The Hacker News launch thread reached 1,579 points and 1,048 comments by October 1. The most common complaint was that nobody could use it yet, followed by doubts about the benchmarks. On Reddit r/singularity the 15% hallucination rate drew the most interest, along with the point that the cost advantage Artificial Analysis cited uses the introductory price and that the regular price is higher than Astra. Bloomberg reported that some Google employees doubt the real coding performance, and Google disputed that report.</p></li></ol>]]></content:encoded>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Grok, Cursor and X now share one plan</title>
    <link>https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-13</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="true">https://kinkeep.dev/news/2026-10-13</guid>
    <pubDate>Tue, 13 Oct 2026 00:00:00 GMT</pubDate>
    <description>xAI merged Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor and X Premium into The X Subscription. Existing subscribers can keep their plan or switch.</description>
    <content:encoded><![CDATA[<ol><li><p><a href="https://x.ai/news/x-subscription">xAI launches The X Subscription</a> (xAI announcement, Oct 12)</p><p>Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor and X Premium are now one plan, in five tiers: Free, Plus, Premium, Super and Ultra. Paid tiers get a pool of Grok model usage that the Grok apps and Cursor share. Existing SuperGrok, Cursor and X Premium subscribers can keep their plan, or switch when the option shows up in billing settings and get a prorated refund.</p><p><em>Merging the plans was overdue. Before the merge, the plans were hard to compare. For example, nobody could clearly say whether Cursor Pro+ or SuperGrok gave more Grok Bot usage, because Cursor only compared Cursor plans with each other and SuperGrok only compared SuperGrok plans with each other. There were two options for the same job, but the descriptions were vague and nobody knew the right answer. Rumors of a merger went around for a long time, and now it&apos;s finally happened. I can&apos;t say whether it&apos;s the plan change, but since switching, my Grok Bot usage feels like it has more headroom.</em></p></li><li><p><a href="https://cursor.com/en-US/pricing">Cursor drops Pro and Pro+</a> (Cursor pricing page, checked Oct 13)</p><p>The five X Subscription tiers replace Pro and Pro+ on the Cursor pricing page. Plus covers Grok models only. Super adds 15x the usage of Plus and priority model access at peak times on top of Premium. Other companies&apos; models still work from Premium up, but you pay for them separately. Cursor&apos;s official X account said paid plans give twice the Grok model coding usage of the equivalent Cursor plan.</p><p><em>The switch page said the plan comparable to Pro+ is Super, so I switched from Pro+ to Super. I use Grok a lot and already subscribe to other providers separately, so I figured losing other companies&apos; models costs me nothing. I expected Super&apos;s Grok and Composer usage to be higher than Pro+.</em></p></li><li><p><a href="https://cursor.com/help/the-x-subscription/overview">Switching is one-way</a> (Cursor Help, checked Oct 13)</p><p>Switching is optional, but you can&apos;t undo it. Your old subscription is cancelled with a prorated refund. Apple App Store purchases are handled separately. If you have several Cursor accounts, Cursor merges them into one.</p><p><em>I was on Cursor Pro+ too, and since there&apos;s no going back after switching, I followed the news and decided carefully. For users, the catch is losing the third-party model subsidy Cursor used to provide.</em></p></li><li><p><a href="https://docs.x.ai/x-subscription/x-premium">What happens to X Premium</a> (SpaceXSI Docs, checked Oct 13)</p><p>Plus gives a checkmark and creator tools on X, and Premium and above give full X Premium+ benefits. Any X Premium billing on the connected account is cancelled when you switch, and the unused time is refunded automatically and separately. X Premium bought through Google Play is the exception: cancel it in Google Play after you switch. With a paid Cursor plan, start at cursor.com/unify so your Cursor account gets linked too.</p><p><em>After moving to the merged plan, I cancelled my separate Stripe-billed X Premium myself.</em></p></li><li><p><a href="https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=50064808">Reactions on HN and r/cursor</a> (Hacker News (submitted by vini), r/cursor threads, Oct 13)</p><ul><li>You can&apos;t buy Cursor on its own anymore.</li><li>&quot;Cursor&apos;s golden days are over.&quot; This was the top-voted comment.</li><li>I&apos;d rather subscribe to the model companies directly.</li><li>Tools are locking into one company&apos;s models, like Codex and Claude Code.</li><li>What happens to annual Pro+ and X subscribers? This just pushes people into pricier tiers. Many complaints were along these lines.</li><li>A few said Super plus a separate subscription elsewhere works out better.</li></ul><p><em>I saw a tweet saying that, in exchange for dropping other companies&apos; models, Grok model usage was doubled. For people who subscribed only to Cursor it&apos;s a loss, for people who kept a separate Claude or GPT subscription alongside Cursor it&apos;s a wash, and for people who use Grok it&apos;s a good change. What matters most is that Grok 4.8 and Composer 3 come out.</em></p></li></ol>]]></content:encoded>
  </item>
  </channel>
</rss>
